LTH-image

FRTN40 Projects in Automatic Control

This is an advanced/doctoral project course that gives 7.5 ECTS credits. The course is given during the second study period of the fall semester. See the course syllabus for more information. Course evaluations by previous participants are available through the CEQ system (old course code: FRT090). Schedule for 2017.

Latest news

  • [2017-10-16] Today we had the course introduction where we presented this year's project proposals. See the Intro Slides and Project Abstracts.
  • [2017-09-28] The course registration system has closed. We are happy to see that a high interest (51 applicants) in the course. Unfortunately, this also means that some of you will not be able to attend the couse this year. We will mail out acceptance notice, based on the criteria listed in the course syllabus ASAP.
  • [2017-06-19] Course home page for 2017 created.

Teachers

Kristian Soltesz (kristian.soltesz@control.lth.se, course responsible)
Anton Cervin
 (anton.cervin@control.lth.se)

Assistants

Marcus Greiff (marcus.greiff@control.lth.se)
Tommi Nylander (tommi.nylander@control.lth.se)
Olof Troeng (olof.troeng@control.lth.se)
 

Research engineers

Pontus Andersson (pontus.andersson@control.lth.se)
Anders Blomdell (anders.blomdell@control.lth.se)
Anders Nilsson (anders.nilsson@control.lth.se)
 

LADOK responsible

Mika Nishimura (mika.nishimura@control.lth.se)
 

Student representatives (Swe: kursombud)

Jonathan Persson (jonathan.persson.458 -at- student.lu.se)
Jens Thieme Almkvist (jens.thieme_almkvist.542 -at- student.lu.se)

Important dates

  • Monday October 16, 15:15-16:00, M:E. Introductory lecture. The course format, project suggestions, and related practical information will be presented by the instructors. Note: This is prior to the course start date, in order to have project groups and material orders ready by the actual course start date.
  • Thursday October 19. Email wish list with four projects in prio order (and possibly list of group members) to anton@control.lth.se.
  • Monday October 30, 10:15-12:00, M:D. Official course start lecture. An introduction to git version management will be given. While we strongly encourage attendance at the October 16 introduction lecture, Monday Oct 30 will be the last possibility to form project groups.
  • Monday November 6. Project plan should be pushed to git and supervisor notified.
  • Monday November 13, 13:15-15:00, M:2112. (Automatic Control's seminar room, M building floor 2) Feedback seminar 1 on modeling and design.
  • Wednesday November 29. Report should be pushed to git to allow peer review by other groups before Feedback seminar 2.
  • Monday December 4, 13:15-15:00, M:2112. Automatic Control's seminar room, M building floor 2) Feedback seminar 2 on design and implementation.
  • Wednesday December 20. Complete project report should be pushed to git and supervisor notified.
  • Friday January 5. All groups should leave review feedback on the reports they have received to review.
  • Thursday January 11. Final, revised, report should be pushed to git and supervisor notified.
  • Friday January 12 08:15-12:00, venue TBA. Project presentations and demonstrations.
  • Friday January 19. LADOK registration of course results. To be registered, you need a clearance from your supervisor that you have cleaned up in the lab, returned any borrowed parts/tools, and that the written report has been approved.

Deliveries (written)

  • Monday November 6. Project plan should be pushed to git and supervisor notified.
  • Wednesday November 29. Report should be pushed to git to allow peer review by other groups before Feedback seminar 2.
  • Wednesday December 20. Complete project report should be pushed to git and supervisor notified.
  • Friday January 5. All groups should leave review feedback on the reports they have received to review.
  • Thursday January 11. Final, revised, report should be pushed to git and supervisor notified.

 

Examination

For course credits, it is required to

  • participate in the project work and the feedback seminars;
  • hand in a final report
  • perform a review of another group's report;
  • commit well-documented code and anything else necessary to reproduce your work into your git repo;
  • give a final presentation and demonstration of your project;
  • clean up after your group in the lab;
  • return all borrowed items, such as tools, components, etc.;
  • do the above within stipulated deadlines, and make sure to have each item approved by your group's supervisor.

 

Project groups

Getting started

Feedback seminars

Final report

Presentation and demonstration